top of page
Hintergrund Website.png

WITNESSES

Witnesses can not only deliberately give false testimony, but can also be wrong to a considerable extent. This is especially true when it comes to identifying suspects. But even beyond that, memory is highly prone to error.

According to surveys by the National Registry of Exonerations, misidentification by eyewitnesses was (partly) causal in 28 percent of the wrongful convictions registered there in U.S. criminal proceedings, while other false accusations by witnesses were (partly) causal in 60 percent of the cases.

 

If witnesses remain unsworn in German criminal proceedings - as is usually the case - false testimony can only be considered as a reason for a retrial in favor of the convicted person if it was made intentionally (Section 359 No. 2 of the German Code of Criminal Procedure) or if there are additional new facts or evidence which, alone or in conjunction with the previously obtained evidence, are suitable to justify an acquittal, a lesser punishment under a more lenient penal provision or a substantially different decision on a measure of correction and protection (Section 359 No. 5 of the German Code of Criminal Procedure).

bottom of page

ZEUG:INNEN

Zeug:innen können nicht nur bewusst falsch aussagen, sondern sich auch in erheblichem Umfang irren. Das gilt insbesondere, wenn es um die Identifizierung von Verdächtigen geht. Aber auch darüber hinaus ist die Erinnerung in hohem Maße fehleranfällig.

Nach den Erhebungen des National Registry of Exonerations (hier) war falsche Identifizierung durch Augenzeug:innen für 28 Prozent der dort registrierten Fehlurteile im US-amerikanischen Strafverfahren (mit-)ursächlich, während anderweitige Falschbeschuldigung durch Zeug:innen in 60 Prozent der Fälle (mit-)ursächlich war.

Bleiben Zeug:innen im deutschen Strafverfahren - wie meistens - unvereidigt, kommt eine Falschaussage als Wiederaufnahmegrund zugunsten des Verurteilten nur in Betracht, wenn sie vorsätzlich erfolgt ist (§ 359 Nr. 2 StPO) oder wenn zusätzlich neue Tatsachen oder Beweismittel vorliegen, die allein oder in Verbindung mit den früher erhobenen Beweisen geeignet sind, einen Freispruch, eine geringere Bestrafung nach einer milderen Strafvorschrift oder eine wesentlich andere Entscheidung über eine Maßregel der Besserung und Sicherung zu begründen (§ 359 Nr. 5 StPO).