top of page
Hintergrund Website.png

THE PROJECT

Once the seal of res judicata has been affixed to a person who has been struck down by the guillotine of a wrongful conviction, there is little prospect of salvation. This is particularly fatal if the verdict is a custodial sentence. Defense lawyers are familiar with such cases. They often suffer with the fate of clients who, in their opinion, have been wrongly convicted, not infrequently against the fierce, futile resistance of the defense. Afterwards, there is usually only resignation.

In Germany, we know little about the phenomenon of wrongful conviction, its frequency and its causes. Since the groundbreaking study by Karl Peters on the "Sources of Error in Criminal Proceedings" in 1974, science has hardly dealt with it. Re-trials and their results are neither statistically recorded nor systematically evaluated. Only recently has this begun to change. Until now, miscarriages of justice have hardly ever been a subject of legal education. Awareness of the fact that the existing remedies and precautions against wrongful convictions in the rules of criminal procedure are not sufficient to prevent them is just as little developed as an understanding of the need for effective means to overturn even legally binding wrongful convictions. A culture of error is underdeveloped in the criminal justice system.

This is different in other countries. Primarily in the USA. Here, initiatives such as the Innocence Project or the National Registry of Exonerations have been dealing with wrongful convictions and their causes for decades. Not only that. The Innocence Project, founded by two criminal defense lawyers from New York, Barry Scheck and Peter Neufeld, tries to uncover and correct wrongful convictions. And it does so exclusively with the help of DNA analysis. Since 1992, the year the project was founded, it has succeeded more than three hundred times. In the meantime, there is a worldwide Innocence Movement, which also includes initiatives in several European countries. But not in Germany.

In legal practice in this country, reopening proceedings hardly play a role. There are only a few specialists who work in this field, occasionally with spectacular success. An initiative comparable to the Innocence Project does not yet exist. It is time to change that. Because:

Recently, some movement has come into this backyard of criminal justice. The dissertations by Böhme (2015) and Dunkel (2019) deal with criminal court miscarriage of justice and miscarriages of justice, respectively. Arnemann's dissertation (2019) examines deficits in criminal retrial. In Strafverteidiger 2020, 52 ff. the results of a study by Kemme and Dunkel on penalty orders and wrongful convictions were published. A research project by Professor:in Bliesener, Altenhain, and Volbert deals with "Errors and Reopening in Criminal Proceedings."

It is therefore long overdue to attempt to systematically address the detection and correction of wrongful convictions in Germany as well. Defense lawyers know that this is not a phenomenon that is limited to spectacular individual cases that have made it through the media.
 
The many individual fates that are not even uncovered remain hidden also because retrials fail due to numerous practical and legal obstacles. Often they are not even tackled because convicted persons, if they had money to finance their defense, are penniless at the latest when their conviction becomes final. For lawyers, involvement at this stage of the proceedings is mostly a pro bono activity, if it is taken up at all. At best, they are assigned to the case and receive a modest fee.

 

An initiative, which Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn, Prof. Dr. Kai Ambos, Prof. Dr. Stefan König and Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen have initiated, must start from this situation. We want to try to improve it with given means. For this we need the help of committed lawyers who are willing to qualify and engage themselves in the field of reopening.

 

However, by linking with university teaching projects, the lawyers will now have the opportunity to work with highly motivated and specially trained students, thus sharing the workload without increased costs. The students participating in our law clinics are characterized by a keen interest in the practice of defense and consistently above-average commitment.

Specifically, we plan to:

 

  • We are creating a central point of contact for Germany to which people can turn who believe they have been wrongly convicted and seek correction of their conviction. Currently, volumes of worn-out, closely-written appeals for help with stacks of attachments wander from lawyer to lawyer like the notebooks of a reading circle through the republic. Most recipients try to get rid of them quickly.

  • With the help of specially trained students and under the guidance of lawyers and academics, inquiries received by this contact point are first examined to determine whether they appear suitable for the initiation of reopening proceedings.

  • A special curriculum is offered to the students within the framework of the existing law clinics at the FU Berlin and the University of Göttingen (these are formats in which theoretical training is combined with practical assignments with attorneys), in which they are instructed in the law of retrial, in criminological sciences, in causes of wrongful convictions and in the practice of retrial proceedings. The curriculum is being developed in cooperation with other universities (currently Bielefeld, Augsburg, Greifswald, DHPol Münster).

  • For lawyers who are interested in special knowledge for the conduct of retrial proceedings, an advanced training course is to be offered by the Working Group on Criminal Law in the DAV, which will provide an introduction to the law and practice of retrial proceedings. FAO certificates will be issued for participation in the events.

  • If they wish to support the project with the knowledge they have gained, the lawyers trained in this way will accompany students of the law clinics in the examination of incoming inquiries within the framework of internships. In the initial phase of the project, the number of these examinations will have to remain limited. They will be processed in the order in which they are received. If the capacity is full, requests received later will have to be deferred. However, we hope to be able to expand capacity as the project gains momentum and initial experience is gained.

  • At present, no remuneration can be paid for the guiding activities in the selection phase. If inquiries prove to be promising for a retrial, then - if the litigants do not provide funds - a request for assistance can be made. The Innocence Project in the U.S. is a donation-funded law clinic, which has also become successful through the pro bono commitment of many American criminal defense attorneys. We will try to raise funds for the German project as well, but also hope for the commitment of criminal defense attorneys motivated by the cause.

 

We therefore need supporters from the legal profession. An initiative similar to the Innocence Project is long overdue in Germany. It must not be limited to cases in which wrongful convictions are brought down with the help of DNA analysis. It must cover the entire spectrum in which reopening of criminal proceedings is possible under current German law.

 

We therefore ask for letters from interested colleagues who would like to participate. Please contact us via info[at]wiederaufnahme.com.  We will provide more details on content, speakers and duration in due course. We also ask you to let us know if you are willing to participate in the Law Clinic in Göttingen, Augsburg, Cologne, Greifswald, Frankfurt (Oder), Gießen or  Berlin.

The project will be scientifically accompanied. It will also deal with the causes of wrongful convictions and systematically record retrials that are initiated. Extensions in many directions are conceivable here. The Innocence Project in the USA is also active in legal policy. It has initiated and enforced reforms of criminal procedure in various states. These are also goals that the project has set for Germany.
 
Gerhard Strate noted at the end of his article "Wiederaufnahmenverfahren" in the Munich Lawyers' Handbook on Criminal Defense (2nd ed. 2014, § 27): "The practice of the law of reopening has so far made itself comfortable in the twilight zone. It is time to take a sharp look at it."
Let's start there!

Prof. Dr. Stefan König
Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen

bottom of page

DAS PROJEKT

Auf wen das Fallbeil des Fehlurteils niedergegangen ist, dem winkt, ist es erst versehen mit dem Siegel der Rechtskraft, wenig Aussicht auf Rettung. Besonders fatal ist das, wenn das Urteil auf Freiheitsstrafe lautet. Strafverteidigerinnen und Strafverteidiger kennen solche Fälle. Häufig leiden sie mit dem Schicksal der Mandant:innen, die nach ihrer Überzeugung zu Unrecht verurteilt wurden, nicht selten gegen den erbitterten, vergeblichen Widerstand der Verteidigung. Danach bleibt zumeist nur Resignation.

Wenig wissen wir in Deutschland über das Phänomen des Fehlurteils, über seine Häufigkeit und seine Ursachen. Seit der wegweisenden Untersuchung von Karl Peters über die „Fehlerquellen im Strafverfahren“ von 1974 hat die Wissenschaft sich kaum damit beschäftigt. Wiederaufnahmeverfahren und ihre Ergebnisse werden weder statistisch erfasst noch systematisch ausgewertet. Erst in jüngerer Zeit beginnt sich das zu ändern. Bislang waren Fehlurteile auch kaum einmal Gegenstand der juristischen Ausbildung. Ein Bewusstsein davon, dass die bestehenden Rechtsbehelfe und Vorkehrungen gegen Fehlurteile in den Regeln des Strafprozesses nicht ausreichen, um sie zu verhindern, ist ebenso wenig ausgeprägt wie die Einsicht in die Notwendigkeit wirksamer Mittel, auch rechtskräftige Fehlurteile aufzuheben. Eine Fehlerkultur ist in der Strafjustiz unterentwickelt.

In anderen Ländern ist das anders. Vornehmlich in den USA. Hier beschäftigen sich Initiativen wie das Innocence Project oder das National Registry of Exonerations seit Jahrzehnten mit Fehlurteilen und ihren Ursachen. Nicht nur das. Namentlich das Innocence Project, begründet von zwei Strafverteidigern aus New York, Barry Scheck und Peter Neufeld, versucht, Fehlurteile aufzudecken und zu korrigieren. Und zwar ausschließlich mit Hilfe von DNA-Analysen. Das ist seit 1992, dem Gründungsjahr des Projektes, über dreihundertmal gelungen. Inzwischen gibt es ein weltweites Innocence Movement, zu dem auch Initiativen in mehreren europäischen Ländern gehören. Nicht jedoch in Deutschland.

In der anwaltlichen Praxis hierzulande spielen Wiederaufnahmeverfahren kaum eine Rolle. Es gibt wenige Spezialist:innen, die sich auf diesem Gebiet betätigen, gelegentlich allerdings mit spektakulären Erfolgen. Eine dem Innocence Project vergleichbare Initiative existiert bislang nicht. Es ist an der Zeit, das zu ändern. Denn:

In jüngerer Zeit ist etwas Bewegung gekommen in diesen Hinterhof der Strafjustiz. Die Dissertationen von Böhme (2015) und Dunkel (2019) befassen sich mit dem strafgerichtlichen Fehlurteil bzw. mit Fehlentscheidungen in der Justiz. Arnemanns Dissertation (2019) untersucht Defizite der Wiederaufnahme im Strafverfahren. Im Strafverteidiger 2020, 52 ff. wurden die Ergebnisse einer Untersuchung von Kemme und Dunkel über Strafbefehl und Fehlurteil publiziert. Ein Forschungsprojekt der Professor:innen Bliesener, Altenhain und Volbert befasst sich mit „Fehler und Wiederaufnahme im Strafverfahren“.

Es ist daher überfällig, den Versuch zu unternehmen, Aufdeckung und Korrektur von Fehlurteilen auch in Deutschland systematisch anzugehen. Verteidiger:innen wissen, dass es sich hier nicht um ein Phänomen handelt, das sich auf spektakuläre Einzelfälle beschränkt, die durch die Medien gegangen sind.

 

Die vielen Einzelschicksale, die gar nicht erst aufgedeckt werden, bleiben auch deswegen verborgen, weil Wiederaufnahmeverfahren an zahlreichen praktischen und rechtlichen Hindernissen scheitern. Oft werden sie gar nicht erst in Angriff genommen, weil Verurteilte, wenn sie Geld hatten, um ihre Verteidigung zu finanzieren, spätestens dann mittellos sind, wenn ihre Verurteilung rechtskräftig ist. Für Anwält:innen ist das Engagement in diesem Stadium des Verfahrens zumeist eine Pro-bono-Aktivität, wenn sie überhaupt aufgenommen wird. Bestenfalls kommt es zu einer Beiordnung mit bescheidener Vergütung.

Eine Initiative, die Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn, Prof. Dr. Kai Ambos, Prof. Dr. Stefan König und Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen angestoßen haben, muss von dieser Situation ausgehen. Wir wollen versuchen, sie mit gegebenen Mitteln zu verbessern. Dazu benötigen wird die Hilfe engagierter Anwält:innen, die bereit sind, sich auf dem Gebiet der Wiederaufnahme zu qualifizieren und zu engagieren.

Durch die Verbindung mit universitären Lehrprojekten erhalten die Anwält:innen nun aber die Möglichkeit, mit hochmotivierten und speziell geschulten StudentInnen zusammenzuarbeiten und so die Arbeitslast ohne erhöhte Kosten zu verteilen. Die an unseren Law Clinics teilnehmenden Student:innen zeichnen sich durch ein großes Interesse an der Praxis der Verteidigung und durchweg überdurchschnittliches Engagement aus. Im Einzelnen planen wir:

  • Wir schaffen eine zentrale Anlaufstelle für Deutschland, an die sich Menschen wenden können, die meinen, sie seien zu Unrecht verurteilt worden, und eine Korrektur ihrer Verurteilung anstreben. Derzeit wandern Konvolute abgegriffener, engzeilig beschriebener Hilferufe mit Stapeln von Anlagen von Anwalt zu Anwältin wie die Hefte eines Lesezirkels durch die Republik. Die meisten Empfänger versuchen, sie schnell wieder loszuwerden.

  • Bei dieser Anlaufstelle eingehende Anfragen werden mit Hilfe hierzu besonders ausgebildeter Student:innen unter anwaltlicher und wissenschaftlicher Anleitung in einem ersten Schritt daraufhin geprüft, ob sie für die Einleitung eines Wiederaufnahmeverfahrens geeignet erscheinen.

  • Für die Studierenden wird im Rahmen der an der FU Berlin und der Universität Göttingen bestehenden Law Clinics (das sind Formate, in denen die theoretische Ausbildung mit praktischen Einsätzen bei AnwältInnen verbunden wird) ein spezielles Curriculum angeboten, in dem sie im Wiederaufnahmerecht, in kriminalistischen Wissenschaften, in Ursachen von Fehlurteilen und in der Praxis von Wiederaufnahmeverfahren unterrichtet werden. Das Curriculum wird in Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Universitäten (derzeit Bielefeld, Augsburg, Greifswald, DHPol Münster) erarbeitet.

  • Für Anwält:innen, die an speziellen Kenntnissen für die Durchführung von Wiederaufnahmeverfahren interessiert sind, soll eine Fortbildungsveranstaltung von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Strafrecht im DAV angeboten werden, die in Recht und Praxis des Wiederaufnahmeverfahrens einführt. Für die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung werden FAO-Bescheinigungen ausgegeben

  • Wenn sie mit den gewonnenen Kenntnissen das Projekt unterstützen wollen, begleiten die auf diesem Weg fortgebildeten Anwält:innen Studierende der Law Clinics bei der Prüfung der eingehenden Anfragen im Rahmen von Praktika. In der Anfangsphase des Projektes wird die Anzahl dieser Prüfungen begrenzt bleiben müssen. Sie werden in der Reihenfolge ihres Eingangs bearbeitet. Sind die Kapazitäten ausgelastet, müssen später eingehende Anfragen zurückgestellt werden. Wir hoffen aber, die Kapazitäten ausweiten zu können, wenn das Projekt Fahrt aufnimmt und erste Erfahrungen vorliegen.

  • Für die anleitende Tätigkeit in der Auswahlphase kann derzeit keine Vergütung gezahlt werden. Erweisen sich Anfragen als erfolgversprechend für ein Wiederaufnahmeverfahren, so kann – wenn nicht die Rechtsuchenden Mittel bereitstellen – eine Beiordnung beantragt werden. Das Innocence Project in den USA ist eine spendenfinanzierte Law Clinic, die auch durch das Pro-bono-Engagement vieler amerikanischer Strafverteidiger:innen erfolgreich wurde. Wir werden versuchen, auch für das deutsche Projekt Spenden einzuwerben, hoffen aber auch auf das Engagement von durch die Sache motivierten Strafverteidiger:innen.

Wir benötigen also Unterstützer:innen aus der Anwaltschaft. Eine dem Innocence Project ähnliche Initiative ist, wie ausgeführt, in Deutschland längst überfällig. Sie darf nicht auf Fälle beschränkt bleiben, in denen mit Hilfe von DNA-Analyse Fehlurteile zu Fall gebracht werden. Sie muss das gesamte Spektrum erfassen, in dem nach geltendem deutschen Recht Wiederaufnahmen von Strafverfahren möglich sind.

 

Wir bitten daher um Zuschriften von interessierten Kolleginnen und Kollegen, die an der angebotenen Fortbildung teilnehmen wollen. Zuschriften richten Sie bitte an info[at]wiederaufnahme.com. Die Veranstaltung findet am 30.04.2021 online statt. Näheres zu Inhalten, ReferentInnen und Dauer werden wir zu gegebener Zeit mitteilen. Wir bitten auch um Mitteilung, ob Bereitschaft besteht, an der Law Clinic in Göttingen oder Berlin teilzunehmen.

Das Projekt wird wissenschaftlich begleitet. Es wird sich auch mit den Ursachen von Fehlurteilen befassen und Wiederaufnahmeverfahren, die initiiert werden, systematisch erfassen. Hier sind Erweiterungen in viele Richtungen denkbar. Das Innocence Project in den USA ist auch rechtspolitisch tätig. Es hat in verschiedenen Bundesstaaten Reformen des Strafverfahrens angestoßen und durchgesetzt. Auch das sind Ziele, die sich das Projekt für Deutschland gesetzt hat.

 

Gerhard Strate hat am Ende seines Beitrags „Wiederaufnahmeverfahren“ im Münchner Anwaltshandbuch Strafverteidigung (2. Aufl. 2014, § 27) angemerkt: „Die Praxis des Wiederaufnahmerechts hat es sich bislang im Dämmerschein behaglich gemacht. Es wird Zeit, sich ihrer scharfsichtig zu bemächtigen.“

Beginnen wir damit!

Prof. Dr. Stefan König

Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen