top of page
Hintergrund Website.png

DO YOU NEED HELP?

Do you need help because you or someone else has been convicted of a crime without having committed it?

Please fill the questionnaire (see below) and send it together with the Verdict to us. 

Please NEVER send us unsolicited files from the proceedings or evidence!

Just send questionnaire and judgment

per email to

info[at]wiederaufnahme.com

or by mail to

FU Law Clinic "Post Conviction"

Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen

Free University of Berlin

Department of Law

Van't Hoff Street 8

14195 Berlin.

The questionnaire contains questions:

  • about you and your current situation,

  • about your criminal proceedings (What does the verdict say? Has there been an appeal?) and

  • for retrial (Why do you want a retrial? What evidence was used in the trial? What new evidence is there?).

  • You can find the questionnaires here:

 

It then goes on like this:

With your answers from the questionnaire and other documents (your judgment) that you send us, we start with a preliminary examination.

The point is whether we see the beginnings of a retrial (i.e.: does it seem possible that there is new evidence?). During this preliminary examination, there is no client relationship. We therefore have no right to refuse to give evidence, and there is also no protection against seizure (however, it is very unlikely that something will be confiscated because your proceedings have been completed).

The preliminary examination can take some time because we work with students in our free time. Please keep in mind that the result can also be that we do not find any approaches for a reopening application. When we're done with this preliminary check, we'll get in touch with you. You can then decide what to do with the result. If necessary, a referral to a lawyer is possible.

You do not have to pay anything for the preliminary examination. But if you have money, we would be happy to receive your donation, because we have costs.

We would like to point out that the employees of the project will not be mandated. This means that the privileges that normally protect the relationship between defender and accused do not exist. For example, we cannot assert any right to refuse to give evidence to state authorities. Also, the documents you send us are not as protected from state access as they would be if you had hired a lawyer. Of course, we have committed ourselves to secrecy internally and will treat your case with absolute discretion.

bottom of page

BENÖTIGEN SIE HILFE?

Benötigen Sie Hilfe, weil Sie oder jemand anders wegen einer Straftat rechtskräftig verurteilt wurden, ohne sie begangen zu haben?

Bitte füllen Sie den Fragebogen (s. unten) aus und schicken diesen gemeinsam mit dem Urteil an uns. 

Bitte senden Sie uns NIE unaufgefordert Akten aus dem Verfahren oder Beweismaterial zu!

Senden Sie lediglich Fragebogen und Urteil

per E-Mail an

info[at]wiederaufnahme.com

oder per Post an

FU Law Clinic "Post Conviction"

Prof. Dr. Carsten Momsen

Freie Universität Berlin

Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft

Van't-Hoff-Straße 8

14195 Berlin.

Der Fragebogen enthält Fragen:

  • zu Ihrer Person und Ihrer aktuellen Situation,

  • zu Ihrem Strafverfahren (Was steht im Urteil? Wurden Rechtsmittel eingelegt?) und

  • zur Wiederaufnahme (Warum möchten Sie eine Wiederaufnahme? Welche Beweise wurden im Verfahren verwendet? Welche neuen Beweise gibt es?).

  • Sie finden den Fragebogen hier: 

 

Es geht dann so weiter:

Mit Ihren Antworten aus dem Fragebogen und weiteren Unterlagen (Ihr Urteil), die Sie uns schicken, beginnen wir mit einer Vorprüfung. 

Dabei geht es darum, ob wir Ansätze für ein Wiederaufnahmeverfahren (also: erscheint es möglich, dass es neue Beweise gibt?) sehen. Während dieser Vorprüfung besteht kein Mandatsverhältnis. Wir haben also kein Zeugnisverweigerungsrecht, und es besteht auch kein Beschlagnahmeschutz (es ist aber sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass etwas beschlagnahmt wird, weil Ihr Verfahren ja abgeschlossen ist).

Die Vorprüfung kann einige Zeit dauern, denn wir arbeiten mit Studierenden in der Freizeit. Bitte bedenken Sie, dass das Ergebnis auch sein kann, dass wir keine Ansätze für einen Wiederaufnahmeantrag finden. Wenn wir mit dieser Vorprüfung fertig sind, melden wir uns bei Ihnen. Sie können dann entscheiden, was Sie mit dem Ergebnis machen. Ggf. ist eine Vermittlung an eine:n Rechtsanwält:in möglich.

Sie müssen für die Vorprüfung nichts bezahlen. Aber falls Sie Geld haben, freuen wir uns über Ihre Spende, denn bei uns entstehen Kosten.

Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Mitarbeiter:innen des Projekts nicht mandatiert werden. Das bedeutet, dass die Privilegien, die normalerweise das Verhältnis von Verteidiger:in und Beschuldigtem schützen, so nicht bestehen. So können wir gegenüber staatlichen Behörden kein Zeugnisverweigerungsrecht geltend machen. Auch sind die uns von Ihnen zugesandten Unterlagen nicht so vor dem staatlichen Zugriff geschützt, wie sie es wären, wenn Sie einen Rechtsanwalt oder eine Rechtsanwältin mandatiert hätten. Selbstverständlich haben wir uns aber intern der Verschwiegenheit verpflichtet und behandeln Ihren Fall mit absoluter Diskretion.